Amateur Radio - ZL4AL - Eastern Southland Branch New Zealand Association of Radio Transmitters - NZART


About Branch 08

President:   Ross Dickie ZL4DIK,
14 Koa Street,
Gore 9710

Secretary:   Lindsay Eunson ZL4LC
P. O. Box 9
Wyndham 9849

AREC Section Leader:   Lindsay Eunson ZL4LC
P. O. Box 9
Wyndham 9849

The beginnings of amateur radio in our district were before the First World War in about 1912 with experiments made by Ernie Strachan who was Science Master at the Gore High School. Ernie, who originally came from Lawrence in Central Otago, set up a spark transmitter in the science room and made transmissions in the low frequencies with wavelengths in the region of 600 metres. In 1924 the "Gore Amateur Radio Club" was formed and this club became part of the Otago Radio Association. Eventually, on the 7th of January 1937 the present Eastern Southland Branch 08 was formed as a part of the New Zealand Association of Radio Transmitters (NZART).

Some of the names of early members of Branch 08 were Arnold Grubb (ZL4AL) Gordon Brown, Jim Strachan, Jack Burnby, Les Burnby, Harry Thompson, Gordon Kitto, Harry Calander, Ossie Wilkinson, Gavin Gerkin, Ivan Whyte, Fred Birch, Campbell Steele, Jack Howard, Jack Austin, Percy Hunt and Jim Bevan.

More to follow - please contribute!


Talk up Amateur Radio

Talk around the world without wires - Amateur Radio


Updated: 15-08-2018

Home Page  About Branch 08  Useful Links  Contact Us

Website by ZL4KF (in 2004)